دعم حركة CLT العالمية

رسالة نهاية العام من John Emmeus Davis

أصدقائي وزملائي الأعزاء -

قبل القفز إلى عام آخر من المنشورات والعروض التقديمية والاجتماعات ، أردنا أن نتوقف للحظة لنلقي نظرة على الطريق الذي سافره المركز مؤخرًا. ستكون هذه النشرة بمثابة "استعراض عام" ، وبالتالي ، احتفالًا بما أنجزناه معًا في عام 2021.

لن أكرر هذه النقاط البارزة هنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، بالنيابة عن المركز ، أود أن أشكر بعض المنظمات والأفراد الذين أتاحوا لنا أن نحظى بمثل هذا العام المثمر.

في الجزء العلوي من معرض المركز للامتنان ، يجب أن يكون زملاؤنا في الإسكان المستدام لمدن شاملة ومتماسكة (SHICC). على مدى السنوات الأربع الماضية ، لعبت SHICC دورًا رئيسيًا في تحفيز نمو CLTs في جميع أنحاء أوروبا والمملكة المتحدة. كان SHICC أيضًا الشريك الأكثر قيمة للمركز في التخطيط للأحداث الكبرى هذا العام لدعم حركة CLT الأكبر: مهرجان CLT الدولي واليوم العالمي CLT. في حين قدم العديد من الأفراد شغفهم وخبرتهم لهذه الأحداث - كمنسقين أو مترجمين أو أعضاء لجنة - يستحق أربعة من قادة SHICC ، جيرت دي باو ، وجواكين دي سانتوس ، وجوليا فيتيلو ، وأنابيل بيدجون تقديرًا خاصًا. بدونهم ، لم نكن لنحاول ولن ننجح في تنفيذ مجموعة من الأحداث البارزة وعالية الخطورة على المسرح الدولي.

مثل أي منظمة غير حكومية أخرى ، يعتمد المركز على التبرعات الخيرية لدعم مشاريعنا وعملياتنا. نحن ممتنون للتمويل الذي تلقيناه هذا العام من مؤسسة Ford ، و World Habitat ، و ENLACE / Cano Martin Pena CLT ، ومن خلال حلفائنا في SHICC - منطقة العاصمة بروكسل وصندوق التنمية الإقليمي الأوروبي.

يستحق أحد المتبرعين لدينا تنويهًا خاصًا. سيغادر جيري مالدونادو مؤسسة فورد في نهاية هذا الشهر لينضم إلى فريق القيادة في PolicyLink. لقد كان أكثر من فاعل خير لنا. لقد كان شريكًا ومستشارًا وبطلًا طويلاً لصناديق ائتمان الأراضي المجتمعية. (تم عرض دفاعه الشخصي عن CLTs بشكل كامل في المقدمة ، وقد ساهم في نشرنا ، ON COMMON GROUND ، وفي مقابلة العام الماضي المشتركة مع David Ireland ، والتي يمكن العثور عليها على موقعنا على الإنترنت: www.cltweb.org). نحن ممتنون لجيري لدعمه الثابت لحركة CLT ونتمنى له التوفيق في منصبه الجديد.

أخيرًا ، دون إدراج كل شخص بالاسم ، أود أن أشكر بامتنان الأفراد الرائعين الذين يديرون المركز ، أو الذين يعملون في المركز ، أو الذين يوجهون برامجنا وخططنا من خلال الخدمة في واحدة (أو أكثر) من مجموعات العمل الخمس للمركز: الاستدامة التنظيمية ، البحث والتعليم ، المساواة العرقية ، الجنوب العالمي ، وهيئة التحرير لمطبعة Terra Nostra. إنها تجعل من الممكن لمنظمة صغيرة ، تعمل بميزانية صغيرة ، أن تحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في المساعدة على تنمية حركة CLT العالمية. شكري للجميع.

جون ديفيس ، رئيس
مركز ابتكار CLT

Supporting the Global CLT Movement

A Year-End Message from John Emmeus Davis

Dear Friends and Colleagues –

Before leaping into another year of publications, presentations, and convenings, we wanted to pause for a moment to look back at the road recently travelled by the Center. This newsletter will serve as a “Year in Review,” therefore, celebrating what we accomplished together in 2021.

I won’t repeat those highlights here. Instead, on behalf of the Center, I want to thank some of the organizations and individuals who made it possible for us to have such a productive year.

At the top of the Center’s gallery of gratitude must be our colleagues at Sustainable Housing for Inclusive and Cohesive Cities (SHICC). Over the past four years, SHICC has played a major role in spurring the growth of CLTs across Europe and the United Kingdom. SHICC has also been the Center’s most valued partner in planning major events this year in support of the larger CLT movement: the International CLT Festival and World CLT Day. While many individuals lent their passion and expertise to these events – as moderators, translators, or panelists – four of SHICC’s leaders, Geert De Pauw, Joaquin de Santos, Julia Vitiello, and Annabel Pidgeon, deserve special recognition. Without them, we would not have attempted nor succeeded in pulling off a host of high-profile, high-risk events on an international stage.

Like every other NGO, the Center relies on charitable donations to subsidize our projects and operations. We are grateful for the funding we received this year from the Ford Foundation, World Habitat, ENLACE/Cano Martin Pena CLT, and – via our allies at SHICC – the Brussels Capital Region and the European Regional Development Fund.

One of our donors deserves a special mention. Jerry Maldonado will be leaving the Ford Foundation at the end of this month to join the leadership team of PolicyLink. He has been more than our benefactor; he has been a partner, advisor, and long-time champion of community land trusts. (His personal advocacy for CLTs was on full display in the Foreword he contributed to our publication, ON COMMON GROUND, and in last year’s joint interview with David Ireland, which can be found on our website: www.cltweb.org). We are grateful for Jerry’s steadfast support for the CLT movement and wish him well in his new position.

Finally, without listing everyone by name, I want to acknowledge with gratitude the wonderful individuals who govern the Center, who staff the Center, or who guide our programs and plans by serving on one (or more) of the Center’s five workgroups: Organizational Sustainability, Research & Teaching, Racial Equity, Global South, and the Editorial Board for Terra Nostra Press. They make it possible for a small organization, operating on a tiny budget, to make a big difference in helping to grow the global CLT movement. My thanks to all.

John Davis, President
Center for CLT Innovation