دعم حركة CLT العالمية

ألبرت جيه ماكنايت

(1927-2016)

الأب ألبرت ماكنايت

ولد ألبرت ج. ماكنايت في 18 أغسطس 1927 في بروكلين ، نيويورك. رُسم كاهنًا كاثوليكيًا في 6 يونيو 1952. وأصبح عضوًا مدى الحياة في جماعة الروح القدس ، وهي جماعة دينية يُعرف أعضاؤها إما بآباء الروح القدس أو الروح القدس. خلال حياته المهنية الطويلة ، عمل بشكل دوري ككاهن أبرشية ، بما في ذلك ست سنوات قضاها من عام 1982 إلى عام 1988 في كنيسة الروح القدس الكاثوليكية في أوبلوساس ، لويزيانا ، وهي واحدة من أكبر الرعايا الأفارقة الأمريكيين في الولايات المتحدة.

"كان شغوفًا بخدمة مجتمع السود" ، كما يقرأ نعيه ، "وخدم في العديد من اللجان الوطنية المالية والخيرية ولجان حقوق الإنسان ، بما في ذلك كونه المدير التنفيذي للتجمع الوطني لرجال الدين الكاثوليك السود."

كرس معظم حياته المهنية لتدريس العائلات الأمريكية الأفريقية ذات الدخل المنخفض في المناطق الريفية الجنوبية لمساعدة أنفسهم من خلال تنظيم وتشغيل التعاونيات. من خلال العمل بالتنسيق مع اتحاد التعاونيات الجنوبية ، أنشأ الأب ماكنايت عددًا من الاتحادات الائتمانية والتعاونيات التي أثرت حياة الآلاف من العائلات الفقيرة في ألاباما وجورجيا وميسيسيبي ولويزيانا. كما طور مصادر المساعدة المالية والفنية للتعاونيات من خلال برنامج تنمية التعاونيات الجنوبية وصندوق التنمية التعاونية الجنوبية ، وكلاهما أسسهما وقادهما.

في عام 1968 ، سافر إلى أتلانتا للمشاركة في اجتماع دعا إليه سلاتر كينغ ، فاي بينيت ، تشارلز شيرود ، بوب سوان ، وأربعة نشطاء آخرين عادوا مؤخرًا من دراسة القرى الصغيرة والكيبوتسات وحيازة الأراضي في إسرائيل. سرعان ما تم إقناع الأب ماكنايت بقيمة اقتراحهم لإنشاء شبكة إقليمية من المجتمعات الزراعية المؤجرة بشكل تعاوني. انضم إلى لجنة التخطيط للمؤسسة التي تم تأسيسها في عام 1969 باسم New Communities، Inc. ثم انضم إلى مجلس إدارة نموذج CLT الأولي هذا ، حيث شغل منصب النائب الأول لرئيس المنظمة.

في عام 1979 ، عين الرئيس جيمي كارتر الأب ماكنايت في مجلس إدارة البنك التعاوني الوطني المنشأ حديثًا. أصبح نائب رئيس البنك. تقديراً لمساهماته العديدة في التعاونيات ، تم إدخاله في قاعة مشاهير التعاونيات في عام 1987.

في التسعينيات ، اتصل الأب ماكنيت من قبل الأب جوزيف فيليب ، مؤسس جمعية الفلاحين في فوندوا في هايتي. طلب مساعدة McKight ومشورتها في تعزيز التنمية المستدامة في المناطق الريفية بالجزيرة. انتقل الأب ماكنايت في النهاية إلى هايتي. في عام 1990 ، عمل مع كثيرين آخرين في المساعدة في بدء مؤسسة جديدة ، جامعة فوندوا. قام شخصياً بتدريس دورات حول التعاونيات وشغل منصب قسيس الجامعة. تقاعد رسميًا في سبتمبر 2004 ، لكنه استمر في العيش في فوندوا وتقديم المشورة لكل من الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس بصفته قسيسًا لفندوا.

توفي الأب ماكنايت في 17 أبريل 2016. ودُفن في لويزيانا ، بالقرب من الكنيسة في أوبلوساس ، وكان قد رعاها بأمانة قبل أربعين عامًا.

لمزيد من القراءة

ألبرت جيه ماكنايت. صفير في مهب الريح: السيرة الذاتية للأب. ألبرت جيه ماكنايت. Opelousas، LA: Southern Development Foundation، Inc.، 2011.

الأب ألبرت ماكنايت، قاعة مشاهير التعاونيات ، الرابطة الوطنية للتعاونيات:

Albert J. McKnight

(1927-2016)

Father Albert McKnight

Albert J. McKnight was born August 18, 1927 in Brooklyn, New York. He was ordained as a Roman Catholic priest on June 6, 1952. He became a life-long member of the Congregation of the Holy Spirit, a religious order whose members are known as either Holy Ghost Fathers or Spiritans. During his long career, he periodically served as a parish priest, including a six-year stint from 1982 to 1988 at the Holy Ghost Catholic Church in Opelousas, Louisiana, one of the largest African-American parishes in the United States.

“He was passionate about serving the black community,” reads his obituary, “and served on many national financial, philanthropic, and human rights committees, including being the Executive Director of the National Black Catholic Clergy Caucus.”

Most of his career was devoted to teaching low-income, African-American families in the rural South to help themselves by organizing and operating cooperatives. Working in concert with the Federation of Southern Cooperatives, Father McKnight established a number of credit unions and cooperatives that enriched the lives of thousands of poor families in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. He also developed sources of financial and technical assistance for cooperatives through the Southern Cooperative Development Program and the Southern Cooperative Development Fund, both of which were founded and led by him.

In 1968, he traveled to Atlanta to participate in a meeting called by Slater King, Fay Bennett, Charles Sherrod, Bob Swann, and four other activists who had recently returned from studying moshavim, kibbutzim, and land tenure in Israel. Father McKnight was quickly persuaded of the worth of their proposal for establishing a regional network of cooperatively managed leased-land agricultural communities. He joined the planning committee for the organization that was incorporated in 1969 as New Communities, Inc. He then joined the governing board of this CLT prototype, serving as the organization’s first vice president.

In 1979 President Jimmy Carter appointed Father McKnight to the board of the newly established National Cooperative Bank. He became the Bank’s vice chairman. In recognition of his many contributions to cooperatives, he was inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame in 1987.

In the 1990s, Father McKnight was approached by Father Joseph Philippe, founder of the Peasant Association of Fondwa in Haiti. He sought McKight’s assistance and advice in furthering sustainable development in the island’s rural areas. Father McKnight eventually moved to Haiti. In 2004, he worked with many others in helping to start a new institution, Fondwa University. He personally taught courses on cooperatives and served as the University’s chaplain. He officially retired in September 2005, but continued to live at Fondwa and to counsel both the students and faculty as Fondwa’s chaplain.

Father McKnight died on April 17, 2016. He was buried in Louisiana, near the church in Opelousas he had faithfully pastored forty years before.

Further reading

Albert J. McKnight. Whistling in the wind: The Autobiography of Fr. Albert J. McKnight. Opelousas, LA: Southern Development Foundation, Inc., 2011.

Father Albert McKnight, Cooperative Hall of Fame, National Association of Cooperatives: