دعم حركة CLT العالمية

بوب سوان

(1918-2003)

بوب سوان

كان بوب سوان من دعاة السلام ومصمم منزل ومصلح أراضي. تعرض لكتابات رالف بورسودي وآرثر مورغان أثناء وجوده في السجن لمقاومته الانضمام إلى القوات المسلحة خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، طور اهتمامًا مدى الحياة بإعادة بناء المجتمع من خلال نماذج بديلة لحيازة الأراضي والعملة المحلية.

تم تعيينه من قبل بورسودي في عام 1967 كمدير ميداني لمعهد الاستقلال الدولي الذي تم إنشاؤه حديثًا وكلفه بورسودي بزراعة بذور حركة جرامدان في أمريكا. عمل بشكل وثيق مع سلاتر كينج وفاي بينيت وتشارلز شيرود وآخرين لتأسيس شركة New Communities Inc. في جنوب غرب جورجيا في عام 1969 ، والتي تعتبر على نطاق واسع "أول CLT". عندما تقاعد بورسودي ، أصبح سوان المدير التنفيذي للمعهد ، وغير اسمه إلى معهد اقتصاديات المجتمع (ICE).

مع ثلاثة من زملائه ، شيمون جوتشالك ، وإريك إس هانش ، وإدوارد ويبستر ، شارك في تأليف صندوق أراضي المجتمع: نموذج جديد لحيازة الأراضي في أمريكا.  نُشر هذا الكتاب في عام 1972 ، وكان أول كتاب يصف سمات الملكية والتنظيم التي جاءت لتعريف CLT "الكلاسيكي".

ترك ICE في عام 1980 ، وانتقل إلى ولاية ماساتشوستس الغربية مع شريكته سوزان ويت. بدأوا معًا صندوق Community Land Trust في Southern Berkshires وجمعية EF Schumacher ، التي تسمى الآن مركز Schumacher للاقتصاد الجديد.

لمزيد من القراءة

ستيفاني ميلز على طريق غاندي: عمل بوب سوان من أجل السلام واقتصاد المجتمع (جزيرة غابريولا ، كولومبيا البريطانية: ناشرو المجتمع الجديد ، 2010).

بوب سوان السلام والحقوق المدنية والبحث عن المجتمع: سيرة ذاتية Great Barrington ، MA: Schumacher Society for a New Economics ، 2001). متوفر عند:

تحية لبوب سوان

Bob Swann

(1918-2003)

Bob Swann

Bob Swann was a pacifist, house designer, and land reformer.  Exposed to the writings of Ralph Borsodi and Arthur Morgan while in prison for resisting induction into the armed forces during World War II, he developed a life-long interest in rebuilding community through alternative models of land tenure and local currency.

He was hired by Borsodi in 1967 as field director for the newly established International Independence Institute and was tasked by Borsodi with planting the seeds for a Gramdan Movement in America.  He worked closely with Slater King, Fay Bennett, Charles Sherrod and others to establish New Communities Inc. in southwest Georgia in 1969, widely considered the “first CLT.”  When Borsodi retired, Swann became the Institute’s executive director, changing its name to the Institute for Community Economics (ICE).

With three colleagues, Shimon Gottschalk, Erick S. Hansch, and Edward Webster, he co-authored The Community Land Trust: A New Model for Land Tenure in America.  Published in 1972, this was the first book to describe features of ownership and organization that came to define the “classic” CLT.

Leaving ICE in 1980, he moved to Western Massachusetts with his partner, Susan Witt.  Together they started the Community Land Trust in the Southern Berkshires and the E.F. Schumacher Society, now named the Schumacher Center for a New Economics.

Further Reading

Stephanie Mills, On Gandhi’s Path: Bob Swann’s Work for Peace and Community Economics (Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, 2010).

Bob Swann, Peace, Civil Rights, and the Search for Community: An Autobiography Great Barrington, MA: Schumacher Society for a New Economics, 2001). Available at:

Tributes to Bob Swann