دعم حركة CLT العالمية

تشارلز شيرود

تشارلز شيرود

ولد تشارلز شيرود في بطرسبورغ بولاية فرجينيا عام 1937 وترعرعت على يد جدته المعمدانية المتدينة. اتخذ خطوته الأولى نحو النشاط في عام 1954 ، بعد فترة وجيزة من قرار المحكمة العليا الأمريكية بإلغاء الفصل العنصري في المدارس العامة. سأله أحد الأصدقاء عما إذا كان يريد إلغاء الفصل العنصري في الكنائس البيضاء ، فجلس الاثنان في قداس للبيض في بطرسبورغ ، قبل وقت طويل من بدء حركة الاعتصام.

في عام 1961 ، أثناء دراسته في جامعة فيرجينيا يونيون ، انضم شيرود مرة أخرى إلى اعتصام ، هذه المرة في متجر متعدد الأقسام في ريتشموند ، فيرجينيا. في وقت لاحق من ذلك العام ، رفض منصب مدرس جامعي. وبدلاً من ذلك ، استجاب لنداء إيلا بيكر وتوجه إلى جامعة شو ، وانضم إلى القادة الشباب من جميع أنحاء البلاد في تأسيس لجنة التنسيق الطلابية اللاعنفية (SNCC).

كان شيرود من أوائل الذين مارسوا سياسة "السجن بدون كفالة" ، والتي أصبحت تكتيكًا شائعًا لحركة الحقوق المدنية. في عام 1961 ، عندما تم القبض على عشرة طلاب في روك هيل بولاية ساوث كارولينا بسبب اعتصام ، ذهب شيرود وثلاثة آخرين إلى روك هيل ، واعتصموهم ، واعتقلوا أيضًا. رفضوا الإفراج عنهم بكفالة ، وقضوا حكماً بالسجن لمدة ثلاثين يوماً لتهويل الظلم على القانون.

كانت إحدى أولى مجالات تركيز SNCC في جنوب غرب جورجيا ، حيث ذهب شيرود في خريف عام 1961. وكان يبلغ من العمر 23 عامًا. بعد شهرين من وصولهم إلى ألباني ، جورجيا ، بدأ شيرود واثنان آخران من العاملين الميدانيين في SNCC ، كورديل ريجون وتشارلز جونز ، في إضافة طاقتهم الشابة وغضبهم النافد الصبر إلى حركة ألباني. بقيادة ويليام جي أندرسون وسلاتر كينج ، كانت حركة ألباني أول تعبئة جماهيرية في عصر الحقوق المدنية الحديثة للإعلان عن هدفها المتمثل في إلغاء الفصل العنصري في مدينة بأكملها. على مدى ثلاث سنوات صعبة ، أدت عشرات الاعتصامات والمسيرات والاحتجاجات اللاعنفية إلى اعتقال مئات الأشخاص.

كان شيرود والعاملين الميدانيين الآخرين في SNCC فعالين بشكل خاص في تحفيز وتعبئة طلاب المدارس الثانوية المحلية وطلاب الجامعات لمقاومة قوانين جيم كرو التي تفصل بين الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي. كما سافروا في جميع أنحاء المقاطعات المحيطة ، لتعليم وتسجيل الناخبين السود في المناطق الريفية. استعان شيرود بالعاملين البيض للمساعدة في تسجيل الناخبين. في نهاية المطاف ، كان خمسة من 11 عاملاً في فريق SNCC المحليين من الشماليين البيض. باستخدام عمال تسجيل الناخبين متعددي الأعراق ، قصد شيرود أن يُظهر للبيض الجنوبيين أن البيض والسود يمكن أن يعملوا معًا على قدم المساواة ، دون تفوق أي عرق على الآخر.

في عام 1966 ، غيرت SNCC اتجاهها بانتخاب Stokely Carmichael رئيسًا لها. تبنت SNCC فلسفة القوة السوداء وطرد الأعضاء البيض ، مما تسبب في مغادرة Sherrod المنظمة. التحق بمدرسة يونيون اللاهوتية في مدينة نيويورك ، وبعد حصوله على درجة الدكتوراه في اللاهوت ، عاد إلى ألباني. قام بتشكيل وقيادة مشروع الناخبين المستقلين في جنوب غرب جورجيا ، حيث عمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع زوجته شيرلي.

في يونيو 1968 ، كان شيرود واحدًا من ثمانية أمريكيين سافروا إلى إسرائيل لدراسة تأجير الأراضي والتعاونيات الزراعية. بعد عودته إلى الولايات المتحدة ، كان جزءًا من لجنة التخطيط التي وضعت المخطط التنظيمي لشركة New Communities، Inc. (NCI) ، والتي تم الاعتراف بها لاحقًا على أنها أول صندوق استئماني للأراضي المجتمعية في البلاد. عندما قُتل الرئيس المؤسس للمنظمة ، سلاتر كينغ ، في حادث سيارة عام 1969 ، تولى شيرود الرئاسة. قاد المنظمة لمدة 16 عامًا. كما عمل في لجنة مدينة ألباني من 1976 إلى 1990.

بعد الخسارة بسبب الرهن على الأرض التي كانت مملوكة من قبل المجتمعات الجديدة ، عمل شيرود كقسيس في سجن ولاية جورجيا في هومرفيل ، جورجيا. في عام 2011 ، مع شراء Cypress Pond Plantation وإنعاش New Communities Inc. ، استأنف Sherrod قيادة المنظمة. أُجبر في النهاية على التقاعد بسبب اعتلال صحته.

لمزيد من القراءة

حركة ألبانيموسوعة جورجيا الجديدة

فرع تايلور. 1988. "تقريبا عيد الميلاد في ألباني." الفصل الرابع عشر ، فراق المياه: أمريكا في عهد الملك ، 1954-63. نيويورك: سايمون وشوستر.

هيلين كوهين ومارك ليبمان. 2016. قوس العدالة: صعود وسقوط وولادة مجتمع محبوب. فيديو من إنتاج Open Studio Productions. يتضمن دليل المشاهد ، والخلفية الدرامية ، والتسلسل الزمني ، ومخططات السيرة الذاتية للشخصيات الرئيسية ، ومواد مرجعية أخرى.

أودريا ليم. 2020. "مجرد توفير لكم مع إدارة. تمنح الملكية الجماعية القوة للمزارعين الفقراء. " مجلة هاربر (يوليو).

"مقابلة مع تشارلز شيرود (1962). ص. 194 - 201 في John Emmeus Davis (محرر) ، دليل صندوق أراضي المجتمع (Cambridge MA: The Lincoln Institute of Land Policy ، 2010).

مقابلة مع تشارلز شيرود ، عيون على جائزة، جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

القس تشارلز شيرود يلقي الخطاب الرئيسي ، "50 عامًا بعد الاعتصامات" ، مؤتمر 2010 في كلية الحقوق بجامعة فيرجينيا.

مشروع جنوب غرب جورجيا للتعليم المجتمعي ، المؤتمر الوطني العراقي.

هوارد زين. 1967. "ألباني ، جورجيا: شبح في القفص." الجزء الثالث في الغموض الجنوبي. شيكاغو إيل: كتب هايماركت.

Charles Sherrod

Charles Sherrod

Charles Sherrod was born in Petersburg, Virginia in 1937 and raised by his grandmother, a devout Baptist. He took his first step toward activism in 1954, soon after the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision to desegregate public schools. A friend asked if he wanted to desegregate white churches, so the two of them sat-in at white services in Petersburg, long before the sit-in movement began.

In 1961, while studying at Virginia Union University, Sherrod again joined a sit-in, this time at a department store in Richmond, Virginia. Later that year, he turned down a college teaching position. Instead, he heeded the call of Ella Baker and headed to Shaw University, joining young leaders from around the country in the founding of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).

Sherrod was one of the first to practice the “jail-no bail” policy, which became a common tactic of the Civil Rights Movement. In 1961, when ten students were arrested in Rock Hill, South Carolina for a sit-in, Sherrod and three others went to Rock Hill, held a sit-in of their own, and were also arrested. They refused bail, serving a thirty-day sentence to dramatize the injustice of the law.

One of SNCC's earliest areas of focus was southwest Georgia, where Sherrod went in the fall of 1961. He was 23 years old. Two months after arriving in Albany, Georgia, Sherrod and two other SNCC field workers, Cordell Reagon and Charles Jones, began adding their youthful energy and impatient anger to the Albany Movement. Led by William G. Anderson and Slater King, the Albany Movement was the first mass mobilization of the modern civil rights era to proclaim its goal to be the total desegregation of an entire city. Over a period of three difficult years, a dozen sit-ins, marches, and nonviolent protests resulted in hundreds of people being arrested.

Sherrod and the other SNCC field workers were especially effective in motivating and mobilizing local high school students and college students to resist Jim Crow laws segregation of African-American . They also traveled throughout the surrounding counties, educating and registering black voters in rural areas.  Sherrod enlisted white workers to help with voter registration. Eventually, five of the 11 workers on SNCC's local staff were white Northerners. By using interracial voter registration workers, Sherrod intended to show white Southerners that whites and blacks could work together as equals, no race being superior to the other.

In 1966, SNCC changed direction with the election of Stokely Carmichael as its chairman.  SNCC embraced a philosophy of black power and expelled white members, causing Sherrod to leave the organization. He enrolled in Union Theological Seminary in New York City and, after receiving a Doctor of Divinity degree, returned to Albany. He formed and led the Southwest Georgia Independent Voters Project, working side-by-side with his wife, Shirley.

In June 1968, Sherrod was one of eight Americans who traveled to Israel to study land leasing and agricultural cooperatives. After returning to the US, he was part of the planning committee that created the organizational blueprint for New Communities, Inc. (NCI), later recognized to have been the country’s first community land trust. When the organization’s founding president, Slater King, was killed in a car accident in 1969, Sherrod assumed the presidency. He led the organization for 16 years. He also served on the Albany City Commission from 1976 to 1990.

After the loss to foreclosure of the land once owned by New Communities, Sherrod worked as a chaplain at the Georgia State Prison in Homerville, Georgia. In 2011, with the purchase of Cypress Pond Plantation and the resuscitation of New Communities Inc., Sherrod resumed leadership of the organization. He was eventually forced to retire due to ill health.

Further Reading

Albany Movement, New Georgia Encyclopedia

Taylor Branch. 1988. “Almost Christmas in Albany.”  Chapter Fourteen, Parting the Waters: America in the King years, 1954-63. New York: Simon and Schuster.

Helen Cohen and Mark Lipman. 2016. Arc of Justice: The Rise, Fall, and Rebirth of a Beloved Community. Video produced by Open Studio Productions. Includes viewer’s guide, backstory, chronology, biographical sketches of the main characters, and other resource materials.

Audrea Lim. 2020. “We shall not be moved. Collective ownership gives power back to poor farmers.” Harper’s Magazine (July).

“Interview with Charles Sherrod (1962). Pp. 194- 201 in John Emmeus Davis (ed.), The Community Land Trust Handbook (Cambridge MA: The Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, 2010).

Interview with Charles Sherrod, Eyes on the Prize, Washington University in St. Louis

Rev. Charles Sherrod delivers Keynote Address, "50 Years After the Sit-Ins," 2010 Conference at the University of Virginia School of Law.

Southwest Georgia Project for Community Education, Inc.

Howard Zinn. 1967. “Albany, Georgia: Ghost in the cage.” Part Three in The Southern Mystique. Chicago IL: Haymarket Books.