دعم حركة CLT العالمية

مقابلات

صورة المقابلات

يعمل المركز حاليًا على تسجيل مقابلات الفيديو - بلغات متنوعة - مع ممارسين ودعاة يشاركون بنشاط في تشغيل برامج CLT والترويج لها في بلدانهم. ستكون هذه المقابلات متاحة هنا للبث المجاني أو التنزيل عندما تكون جاهزًا.

تم جمع هنا أيضًا المقابلات التي ظهرت مطبوعة على مر السنين. استحوذت هذه الروايات المنشورة على انعكاسات وأفكار من بعض الأشخاص الذين زرعوا بذور حركة ثقة أراضي المجتمع الحديثة أو الذين لعبوا أدوارًا رئيسية في رعاية نموها.

طباعة المقابلات

  • مقابلة جماعية مع رواد المجتمعات الجديدة (1971). على مر السنين ، ظهر عدد قليل من القادة البارزين في شركة New Communities Inc. (NCI) في المطبوعات والأفلام. نادرًا ما تُسمع أصوات المشاركين الأقل شهرة في هذه القصة الملهمة. استثناء هو مقابلة نادرة أجراها Ed Feaver في عام 1971 ، بعد عام واحد من انتهاء المجتمعات الجديدة من شراء 5,735 فدانًا من الأراضي الريفية بالقرب من ألباني ، جورجيا. أعرب ثمانية أشخاص كانوا ينظمون بعد ذلك نيابة عن NCI ، أو يخدمون في مجلس إدارة NCI ، أو يزرعون أرض NCI ، أو ينتظرون في الطابور للحصول على فرصة للعيش على أرض NCI ، عن آمالهم الشخصية في الرحلة المقبلة.
  • رالف بورسودي (1974). أجرى موقع Mother Earth News مقابلة مع رالف بورسودي بعد سنوات قليلة من تقاعده من منصبه كمدير تنفيذي لمعهد الاستقلال الدولي ، وهي المنظمة التي أسسها في عام 1967. وكان يبلغ من العمر 88 عامًا وقت إجراء هذه المقابلة ، وهو ينظر إلى الوراء على حياة طويلة معتبرة. الإنجاز ككاتب وعائل وفيلسوف اجتماعي. مستوحى من أفكار هنري جورج ، أسس مجتمعًا مقصودًا في عام 1936 يسمى مدرسة المعيشة ، حيث كانت المباني مملوكة للأفراد وكانت الأرض مملوكة لمنظمة غير ربحية. كان أول من أطلق على هذا الترتيب اسم "ائتمان الأرض". أمضى بعد ذلك خمس سنوات في الهند ، حيث درس حركة جرامدان. بعد عودته إلى الولايات المتحدة في عام 1967 ، أسس معهد الاستقلال الدولي (أعيدت تسميته إلى معهد اقتصاديات المجتمع في عام 1972) لتعزيز صناديق الأراضي ، والعملة المحلية ، والأمن الغذائي ، والاقتصاد اللامركزي - أفكار شبابية كان لا يزال يتبناها ويصقلها في دورته الثامنة والثمانين. عام.
  • جون ايموس ديفيس (2011). بحلول عام 2011 ، كان جون قد عمل على تعزيز تطوير ائتمانات الأراضي المجتمعية لمدة 30 عامًا ككاتب ومعلم ومقدم للمساعدة الفنية. تم استكشاف تطور مشاركته الشخصية والمهنية مع حركة CLT في هذه المقابلة التي سجلها Steve Dubb ، ثم مدير الأبحاث في Democracy Collaborative والآن محرر Nonprofit Quarterly. كما ناقشوا الأدوار المختلفة التي يمكن أن تلعبها CLTs عندما وأين تكون أسواق العقارات قوية - ومتى وأين تكون ضعيفة.
  • روز جرينشتاين (2007). كان روز رئيسًا لقسم التنمية الاقتصادية والمجتمعية في معهد لينكولن لسياسة الأراضي في عام 2005 عندما تم إلغاء مؤتمر CLT الوطني الذي تم التخطيط له في بورتلاند أوريغون فجأة بسبب نقص الأموال. تدخلت بتمويل من معهد لينكولن لإنقاذ المؤتمر. بعد عام واحد ، ساعدت في بدء أكاديمية CLT الوطنية ، وعملت لمدة ثلاث سنوات كرئيس مشارك للمجلس التأسيسي ، واستخدمت موارد لينكولن لدعم الدورات التدريبية الإقليمية الأولى للأكاديمية. كما لعبت دورًا محوريًا في تحفيز وتمويل البحث العلمي في CLTs وفي رعاية نشر لينكولن في 2010 لـ The Community Land Trust Reader.
  • ديفيد ايرلندا وجيري مالدونادو (2020). كان ديفيد إيرلندا وجيري مالدونادو من الداعمين الرئيسيين لحركة ثقة أراضي المجتمع ، وساهما في المقدمة في على أرضية مشتركة. ديفيد هو الرئيس التنفيذي لـ World Habitat ، وهي مؤسسة خيرية دولية للإسكان مقرها المملكة المتحدة تساعد على توسيع نطاق الحلول لمشاكل الإسكان في العالم ، من ترقية الأحياء الفقيرة إلى الإسكان بعد الكوارث والتشرد. تدير منظمته أيضًا جوائز الموئل العالمية بالشراكة مع موئل الأمم المتحدة ، وتدير برامج تهدف إلى إنهاء التشرد وتوسيع نطاق الإسكان الذي يقوده المجتمع المحلي. جيري هو مدير برنامج المدن والولايات في مؤسسة فورد. انضم إلى شركة فورد في أعقاب الإعصارين كاترينا وريتا ، حيث أشرف على مبادرة المؤسسة لتحويل ساحل الخليج. على مدى العقد الماضي ، طور وأدار العديد من مبادرات تقديم المنح الوطنية والإقليمية والخاصة بالمؤسسة ، حيث عمل في تقاطع التنمية العادلة والمشاركة المدنية.
  • Los Fideicomisos Comunitarios de Tierra y los Valores que Aportan el Colectivo Humano (2020): عرض فيديو Este لمحادثة من قبل estudiantes del Pro-Bono Caño / CAUCE conesentes de los tres fideicomisos comunitarios de tierras que están creados in Puerto Rico hasta la fecha. Cada uno de estos Fideicomisos utiliza elementos comunes para cumplir con objetivos germanos، pero diferentes. Los elementos comunes son el control comunitario de la tierra a través de una Organización cuya gobernanza está compuesta en su mayoría por las y los Integrantes comunidad. El desarrollo de las áreas que atienden estos fideicomisos está liderado por la comunidad a la que sirve. El objetivo del Conversatorio fue resaltar los valores que fundamentan la creación de estas Organizaciones comunitarias que están guiadas en sus ejecuciones por y hacia el bien común.
  • يوجين "جوس" نيوبورت (2020) هو العمدة السابق لبيركلي كاليفورنيا. شغل لاحقًا منصب المدير التنفيذي لمبادرة دودلي ستريت جوار في بوسطن ماساتشوستس ، ومعهد اقتصاديات المجتمع في سبرينغفيلد ماساتشوستس ، والشراكة من أجل مبادرات الجوار في مقاطعة بالم بيتش بولاية فلوريدا. لقد كان زميلًا زائرًا في العديد من الجامعات ، بما في ذلك معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ، وييل ، وولاية بورتلاند ، وجامعة ماساتشوستس - بوسطن ، وجامعة كاليفورنيا - سانتا كروز. شغل منصب نائب الرئيس من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لمجلس السلام العالمي من 1980 إلى 1986 وعمل في لجنتين في الأمم المتحدة. في وقت سابق من حياته المهنية ، عمل في وزارة العمل الأمريكية في بورتوريكو وجزر فيرجن.
  • تأمين حقوق الأراضي في العشوائيات (2020). في 29 أكتوبر 2020 ، موطن العالم قدّمت حلقة نقاش ركّزت على دور ثقة أراضي المجتمع في تأمين حقوق الأرض لسكان المستوطنات العشوائية. ومن بين المتحدثين: ماريولجا جوليا باتشيكو ودون خوسيه كارابالو ، من Caño Martín Peña CLT ، بورتوريكو ؛ تيريزا ويليامسون ، من Favela CLT / Catalytic Communities ، البرازيل ؛ وخالد حسين ورابية رحمن ، من التنمية بقيادة المجتمع في معسكرات البيهارية الناطقة باللغة الأوردية ، بنغلاديش. كان الوسيط هو Line Algoed من مركز ابتكار CLT (والمحرر المشارك على أرضية مشتركة: وجهات نظر دولية لصناديق أراضي المجتمع).  كانت المضيفة ماريانجيلا فيرونيسي ، قائدة البرنامج ، الإسكان الذي يقوده المجتمع العالمي ، الموئل العالمي.
  • تشارلز شيرود (1982). في سن 23 عامًا ، وصل تشارلز شيرود إلى ألباني ، جورجيا للقيام بالتنظيم المجتمعي وتسجيل الناخبين في لجنة التنسيق الطلابية اللاعنفية. لم يغادر قط. في عام 1968 ، كان واحدًا من ثمانية أمريكيين سافروا إلى إسرائيل لدراسة تأجير الأراضي والتعاونيات الزراعية. بعد عودته إلى الولايات المتحدة ، كان جزءًا من لجنة التخطيط التي أسست شركة New Communities، Inc. (NCI). عندما قُتل الرئيس المؤسس للمنظمة ، سلاتر كينغ ، في حادث سيارة عام 1969 ، تولى تشارلز الرئاسة ، وهو المنصب الذي شغله لمدة 16 عامًا. كانت NCI لا تزال مصدر قلق مستمر في عام 1981 عندما سافر جون ديفيس إلى جنوب غرب جورجيا لتسجيل مقابلة مع تشارلز لإدراجها في دليل تراست أراضي المجتمع ، الذي نشرته دار نشر رودال في العام التالي.
  • بوب سوان (1973). هذه واحدة من أولى المقابلات التي أجراها بوب سوان. ظهرت في لايف ستايل! المجلة ، بعد فترة وجيزة من نشره هو وثلاثة من زملائه ، The Community Land Trust: A Guide to a New Model for Land Tenure in America؛ وبعد فترة وجيزة أصبح بوب المدير التنفيذي لمعهد اقتصاديات المجتمع ، بعد تقاعد رالف بورسودي. في وقت إجراء هذه المقابلة ، كان هناك عدد قليل من المنظمات الموجودة التي تشبه "النموذج الجديد لحيازة الأراضي" الموصوف في كتابه. تقدم هذه المقابلة لمحة نادرة عن تفكير بوب بينما كانت CLTs بدأت للتو في الولايات المتحدة.
  • بوب سوان (1992). بعد عقدين من إجراء مقابلة مع لايف ستايل! مجلة ، جلس بوب لإجراء مقابلة مع كيربي وايت ، المحرر المشارك لـ Community Economics ، وهي رسالة إخبارية نُشرت لمدة أربعة عشر عامًا من قبل معهد اقتصاديات المجتمع. في السنوات الفاصلة ، حدثت العديد من التغييرات في حياة بوب وفي حركة CLT التي ساعد في بدايتها. كان قد استقال من منصبه كمدير تنفيذي للمعهد في عام 1980 وانتقل إلى ولاية ماساتشوستس الغربية مع شريكته سوزان ويت. وقد بدأوا معًا صندوق Community Land Trust في جنوب Berkshires وجمعية EF Schumacher (التي تسمى الآن مركز Schumacher للاقتصاد الجديد). في غضون ذلك ، نما عدد CLTs من عدد قليل من التجارب الريفية إلى ما يقرب من مائة ، تعمل معظمها في المدن والضواحي والبلدات. منحت هذه المقابلة بوب فرصة للتفكير في تطور النموذج وللأسف على ميل CLTs الحالية للتركيز بشكل ضيق على الإسكان الميسور التكلفة وحده.
  • ليز ألدن ويلي (2020). ليز ألدن ويلي ، دكتوراه (العلوم السياسية) ، متخصصة في حيازة الأراضي ، وتعمل كباحثة ومستشار تقني وممارس في ملكية الأراضي المجتمعية. عملت على هذه القضية في حوالي عشرين دولة. ساهمت بفصل في On Common Ground بعنوان "تحديات الطفل الجديد في الكتلة - الملكية الجماعية". لقد لعبت دورًا أساسيًا في المساعدة في إطلاق مبادرات إقليمية وعالمية لدعم حقوق ملكية الأراضي المجتمعية مثل LandMark ، وهي منشأة عبر الإنترنت تقوم بجمع الخرائط والمعلومات وجعلها متاحة للجمهور حول أراضي المجتمع. ليز زميلة في معهد فان فولينهوفن بكلية ليدن للحقوق ، ومعهد كاتيبا ، وهي هيئة للدفاع عن الدستور في إفريقيا ، ومبادرة الحقوق والموارد ، وهي تحالف عالمي.

المقابلات الصوتية

مقابلة الصحفي الأسترالي كارل فيتزجيرالد مع جون إيموس ديفيس (22 تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 2018).

يتحدث جاس نيوبورت (82) مع صديقه منذ فترة طويلة جيسون ويب (38) حول كيفية التقائهم لأول مرة ولماذا هم متحمسون جدًا لتنظيم المجتمع. يشارك Gus حول عمله في Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative ويصف Jason كيف انخرط في المنظمة عندما كان طفلاً. يتشارك كلاهما حول مجتمع Dudley ، وما تعلموه في القيام بعمل يركز على المجتمع ، وما هو شعور التأثير الإيجابي على حيهم. تم التسجيل في 11 أكتوبر 2017.

Interviews

Interviews graphic

The Center is presently in the process of recording video interviews – in a variety of languages – with practitioners and advocates who are actively involved in operating and promoting CLT programs in their own countries. These interviews will be made available here for free streaming or downloading when ready.

Collected here, as well, are interviews that appeared in print over the years. These published accounts captured reflections and ideas from some of the people who seeded the modern community land trust movement or who played major roles in nurturing its growth.

Print Interviews

  • Group Interview with the Pioneers of New Communities (1971).  Over the years, a few high-profile leaders of New Communities Inc. (NCI) have been featured in print and on film. The voices of lesser-known participants in this inspiring story have seldom been heard. An exception is a rare interview conducted by Ed Feaver in 1971, one year after New Communities had completed purchase of 5,735 acres of rural land near Albany, Georgia. Eight people who were then organizing on NCI’s behalf, serving on NCI’s board, farming NCI’s land, or waiting in line for a chance to live on NCI’s land expressed their personal hopes for the journey ahead.
  • Ralph Borsodi (1974). Mother Earth News interviewed Ralph Borsodi a few years after he had retired as executive director of the International Independence Institute, the organization he had founded in 1967. He was 88 years old at the time of this interview, looking back on a long life of considerable achievement as a writer, homesteader, and social philosopher. Inspired by the ideas of Henry George, he had founded an intentional community in 1936 called the School of Living, where the buildings were owned by individuals and the land was owned by a nonprofit organization. He was the first to call this arrangement a “land trust.” He later spent five years in India, studying the Gramdan Movement. Returning to the United States in 1967, he founded the International Independence Institute (renamed the Institute for Community Economics in 1972) to promote land trusts, local currency, food security, and decentralist economics – youthful ideas he was still espousing and refining in his 88th year.
  • John Emmeus Davis (2011).  By 2011, John had been furthering the development of community land trusts for 30 years as a writer, teacher, and provider of technical assistance. The evolution of his personal and professional involvement with the CLT movement was explored in this interview recorded by Steve Dubb, then the Research Director at the Democracy Collaborative and now the editor of Nonprofit Quarterly. They also discussed the differing roles that CLTs can play when and where real estate markets are strong – and when and where they are weak.
  • Roz Greenstein (2007).  Roz was Chair of the Department of Economic and Community Development at the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy in 2005 when a national CLT conference that had been planned for Portland Oregon was abruptly canceled for lack of funds. She stepped in with funding from the Lincoln Institute to save the conference. One year later, she helped to start the National CLT Academy, served for three years as co-chair of the founding board, and used Lincoln’s resources to subsidize the Academy’s first regional trainings. She also played a pivotal role in spurring and funding scholarly research into CLTs and in shepherding Lincoln’s publication in 2010 of The Community Land Trust Reader.
  • David Ireland and Jerry Maldonado (2020).  David Ireland and Jerry Maldonado have been key supporters of the community land trust movement, and contributed the foreward to On Common Ground.  David is Chief Executive of World Habitat, a UK-based international housing charity that helps to scale up solutions to the world’s housing problems, from slum upgrading to post-disaster housing and homelessness. His organization also operates the World Habitat Awards in partnership with UN-Habitat, and runs programs aimed at ending homelessness and scaling up community-led housing.  Jerry is Director of the Cities and States Program at the Ford Foundation. He joined Ford in the aftermath of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, overseeing the Foundation’s Gulf Coast Transformation Initiative. Over the past decade he has developed and managed several of the Foundation’s national, regional, and state grant-making initiatives, working at the intersection of equitable development and civic engagement.
  • Eugene “Gus” Newport (2020) is the former Mayor of Berkeley CA. He later served as executive director of the Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative in Boston MA, the Institute for Community Economics in Springfield MA, and the Partnership for Neighborhood Initiatives in Palm Beach County FL. He has been a visiting fellow at several universities, including MIT, Yale, Portland State, the University of Massachusetts-Boston, and the University of California-Santa Cruz. He was vice-president from the USA to the World Peace Council from 1980 to 1986 and served on two committees at the United Nations. Earlier in his career, he worked for the U.S. Department of Labor in Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.
  • Charles Sherrod (1982). At 23 years of age, Charles Sherrod arrived in Albany, Georgia to do community organizing and voter registration for the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee. He never left. In 1968, he was one of eight Americans who traveled to Israel to study land leasing and agricultural cooperatives. After returning to the USA, he was part of the planning committee that founded New Communities, Inc. (NCI). When the organization’s founding president, Slater King, was killed in a car accident in 1969, Charles assumed the presidency, an office he held for 16 years. NCI was still a going concern in 1981 when John Davis traveled to southwest Georgia to record an interview with Charles for inclusion in the The Community Land Trust Handbook, published by Rodale Press the following year.
  • Bob Swann (1973).  This is one of the earliest interviews given by Bob Swann. It appeared in Lifestyle! Magazine, soon after he and three colleagues had published The Community Land Trust: A Guide to a New Model for Land Tenure in America; and soon after Bob had become executive director of the Institute for Community Economics, after Ralph Borsodi’s retirement. At the time of this interview, there were few existing organizations that resembled the “new model for land tenure” described in his book. This interview provides a rare glimpse into Bob’s thinking as CLTs were just getting underway in the United States.
  • Bob Swann (1992).  Two decades after being interviewed by Lifestyle! Magazine, Bob sat down for an interview with Kirby White, co-editor of Community Economics, a newsletter published for fourteen years by the Institute for Community Economics. In the intervening years, many changes had occurred in Bob’s life and in the CLT movement that he had helped to start. He had stepped down as the Institute’s executive director in 1980 and moved to Western Massachusetts with his partner, Susan Witt. Together they had started the Community Land Trust in the Southern Berkshires and the E.F. Schumacher Society (now named the Schumacher Center for a New Economics). Meanwhile, the number of CLTs had grown from a handful of rural experiments to nearly a hundred, operating mostly in cities, suburbs, and towns. This interview afforded Bob a chance to reflect on the model’s evolution and to lament the tendency of present-day CLTs to focus narrowly on affordable housing alone.
  • Liz Alden Wily (2020).  Liz Alden Wily, PhD (Political Science), is a specialist in land tenure, working as a researcher, technical adviser, and practitioner on community landholding.  She has worked on this issue in approximately twenty countries.  She contributed a chapter in On Common Ground entitled "Challenges for the New Kid on the Block -- Collective Property".  She has been instrumental in helping to launch regional and global initiatives in support of community land rights such as LandMark, an online facility which collates and makes maps and information publicly available about community lands. Liz is a Fellow of the Van Vollenhoven Institute at Leiden Law School, the Katiba Institute, a constitutional advocacy body in Africa, and the Rights and Resources Initiative, a global coalition.

Audio Interviews

Australian journalist Karl Fitzgerald's interview with John Emmeus Davis (November 22, 2018)

Video Interviews