Unterstützung der globalen CLT-Bewegung

Interviews

Interview-Grafik

Das Zentrum ist derzeit dabei, Videointerviews – in verschiedenen Sprachen – mit Praktikern und Fürsprechern aufzuzeichnen, die aktiv an der Durchführung und Förderung von CLT-Programmen in ihren eigenen Ländern beteiligt sind. Diese Interviews werden hier zum kostenlosen Streamen oder Herunterladen bereitgestellt, sobald sie fertig sind.

Auch hier sind Interviews gesammelt, die im Laufe der Jahre in gedruckter Form erschienen sind. Diese veröffentlichten Berichte fangen Reflexionen und Ideen von einigen der Menschen ein, die die moderne Community-Land-Trust-Bewegung begründet haben oder die eine wichtige Rolle bei der Förderung ihres Wachstums gespielt haben.

Interviews drucken

  • Gruppeninterview mit den Pionieren neuer Gemeinschaften (1971). Im Laufe der Jahre wurden einige hochkarätige Führungskräfte von New Communities Inc. (NCI) in Print und Film vorgestellt. Die Stimmen weniger bekannter Teilnehmer dieser inspirierenden Geschichte wurden selten gehört. Eine Ausnahme ist ein seltenes Interview, das Ed Feaver 1971 führte, ein Jahr nachdem New Communities den Kauf von 5,735 Morgen Land in der Nähe von Albany, Georgia, abgeschlossen hatten. Acht Personen, die sich damals im Namen von NCI organisierten, im NCI-Vorstand dienten, NCI-Land bewirtschafteten oder auf eine Chance warteten, auf dem Land von NCI zu leben, drückten ihre persönlichen Hoffnungen für die bevorstehende Reise aus.
  • Ralph Borsodi (1974). Mother Earth News interviewte Ralph Borsodi wenige Jahre nach seiner Pensionierung als Executive Director des International Independence Institute, der von ihm 1967 gegründeten Organisation. Er war zum Zeitpunkt dieses Interviews 88 Jahre alt und blickte auf ein langes Leben zurück Erfolg als Schriftsteller, Gehöft und Sozialphilosoph. Inspiriert von den Ideen von Henry George hatte er 1936 eine bewusste Gemeinschaft namens School of Living gegründet, in der die Gebäude im Besitz von Einzelpersonen waren und das Land einer gemeinnützigen Organisation gehörte. Er war der erste, der dieses Arrangement als „Land Trust“ bezeichnete. Später verbrachte er fünf Jahre in Indien und studierte die Gramdan-Bewegung. 1967 kehrte er in die Vereinigten Staaten zurück und gründete das International Independence Institute (das 1972 in Institute for Community Economics umbenannt wurde), um Land Trusts, lokale Währungen, Ernährungssicherheit und dezentrale Wirtschaft zu fördern – junge Ideen, die er noch in seinem 88 Jahr.
  • John Emmeus Davis (2011). Bis 2011 förderte John 30 Jahre lang als Autor, Lehrer und Anbieter technischer Hilfe die Entwicklung von Community Land Trusts. Die Entwicklung seines persönlichen und beruflichen Engagements für die CLT-Bewegung wurde in diesem Interview untersucht, das von Steve Dubb aufgezeichnet wurde, damals Research Director bei Democracy Collaborative und jetzt Herausgeber von Nonprofit Quarterly. Sie diskutierten auch die unterschiedlichen Rollen, die CLTs spielen können, wenn und wo die Immobilienmärkte stark sind – und wann und wo sie schwach sind.
  • Roz Greenstein (2007). Roz war 2005 Vorsitzender des Department of Economic and Community Development am Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, als eine für Portland Oregon geplante nationale CLT-Konferenz aus Geldmangel abrupt abgesagt wurde. Sie sprang mit Geldern des Lincoln Institute ein, um die Konferenz zu retten. Ein Jahr später half sie beim Aufbau der National CLT Academy, war drei Jahre lang Co-Vorsitzende des Gründungsvorstands und nutzte Lincolns Ressourcen, um die ersten regionalen Schulungen der Academy zu subventionieren. Sie spielte auch eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Förderung und Finanzierung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung zu CLTs und bei der Veröffentlichung von Lincolns Veröffentlichung von The Community Land Trust Reader im Jahr 2010.
  • David Ireland und Jerry Maldonado (2020). David Ireland und Jerry Maldonado waren wichtige Unterstützer der Community Land Trust-Bewegung und trugen zum Vorlauf bei Auf gemeinsamem Boden. David ist Chief Executive von World Habitat, einer in Großbritannien ansässigen internationalen Wohltätigkeitsorganisation, die dazu beiträgt, Lösungen für die Wohnungsprobleme der Welt zu entwickeln, von der Modernisierung von Slums bis hin zu Unterkünften nach einer Katastrophe und Obdachlosigkeit. Seine Organisation betreibt auch die World Habitat Awards in Partnerschaft mit UN-Habitat und führt Programme durch, die darauf abzielen, Obdachlosigkeit zu beenden und gemeindegeführten Wohnraum zu erhöhen. Jerry ist Direktor des Städte- und Staatenprogramms der Ford Foundation. Er kam nach den Hurrikanen Katrina und Rita zu Ford und leitete die Gulf Coast Transformation Initiative der Foundation. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat er mehrere nationale, regionale und staatliche Förderinitiativen der Stiftung entwickelt und geleitet und an der Schnittstelle zwischen gerechter Entwicklung und bürgerschaftlichem Engagement gearbeitet.
  • Los Fideicomisos Comunitarios de Tierra y los Valores que Aportan el Colectivo Humano (2020): Este video presenta un conversatorio guiado por estudiantes del Pro-Bono Caño/CAUCE con representantes de los tres fideicomisos comunitarios de tierras que están creados en Puerto Rico hasta la fecha. Cada uno de estos Fideicomisos utiliza elementos comunes para cumplir con objetivos germanos, pero diferentes. Los elementos comunes son el control comunitario de la tierra a través de a organización cuya gobernanza está compuesta en su mayoría por las y los integrantes comunidad. El desarrollo de las áreas que tienden estos fideicomisos está liderado por la comunidad a la que sirve. El objetivo del conversatorio fue resaltar los valores que fundamentan la creación de estas organizaciones comunitarias que están guiadas en sus ejecuciones por y hacia el bien común.
  • Eugene „Gus“ Newport (2020) ist der ehemalige Bürgermeister von Berkeley CA. Später war er Executive Director der Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative in Boston MA, des Institute for Community Economics in Springfield MA und der Partnership for Neighborhood Initiatives in Palm Beach County FL. Er war Gastwissenschaftler an mehreren Universitäten, darunter am MIT, Yale, Portland State, der University of Massachusetts-Boston und der University of California-Santa Cruz. Von 1980 bis 1986 war er Vizepräsident der USA beim Weltfriedensrat und diente in zwei Ausschüssen der Vereinten Nationen. Zu Beginn seiner Karriere arbeitete er für das US-Arbeitsministerium in Puerto Rico und auf den Jungferninseln.
  • Sicherung von Landrechten in informellen Siedlungen (2020). Am 29. Oktober 2020, Weltlebensraum präsentierte eine Podiumsdiskussion, die sich auf die Rolle des Community Land Trust bei der Sicherung der Landrechte für Bewohner informeller Siedlungen konzentrierte. Zu den Diskussionsteilnehmern gehörten: Mariolga Juliá Pacheco und Don José Caraballo vom Caño Martín Peña CLT, Puerto Rico; Theresa Williamson, Favela CLT / Catalytic Communities, Brasilien; und Khalid Hussain und Rabeya Rahman von der Community-Led Development of the Urdu-Speaking Bihari Camps, Bangladesch. Der Moderator war Line Algoed vom Center for CLT Innovation (und Mitherausgeber) of On Common Ground: International Perspectives of Community Land Trusts).  Gastgeberin war Mariangela Veronesi, Programmleiterin, Global Community-led Housing, World Habitat.
  • Charles Sherrod (1982). Im Alter von 23 Jahren kam Charles Sherrod in Albany, Georgia, an, um die Gemeindeorganisation und die Wählerregistrierung für das Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee durchzuführen. Er ist nie gegangen. 1968 reiste er als einer von acht Amerikanern nach Israel, um Landverpachtung und landwirtschaftliche Genossenschaften zu studieren. Nach seiner Rückkehr in die USA gehörte er dem Planungskomitee an, das New Communities, Inc. (NCI) gründete. Als der Gründungspräsident der Organisation, Slater King, 1969 bei einem Autounfall ums Leben kam, übernahm Charles die Präsidentschaft, ein Amt, das er 16 Jahre lang innehatte. NCI war 1981 immer noch im Geschäft, als John Davis nach Südwest-Georgia reiste, um ein Interview mit Charles aufzunehmen, das in das The Community Land Trust Handbook aufgenommen wurde, das im folgenden Jahr von Rodale Press veröffentlicht wurde.
  • Bob Swann (1973). Dies ist eines der frühesten Interviews von Bob Swann. Es erschien in Lifestyle! Magazine, kurz nachdem er und drei Kollegen The Community Land Trust: A Guide to a New Model for Land Tenure in America veröffentlicht hatten; und kurz darauf war Bob nach Ralph Borsodis Pensionierung Executive Director des Institute for Community Economics geworden. Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Interviews gab es nur wenige bestehende Organisationen, die dem in seinem Buch beschriebenen „neuen Modell für Landbesitz“ ähnelten. Dieses Interview bietet einen seltenen Einblick in Bobs Denken, als CLTs in den Vereinigten Staaten gerade in Gang kamen.
  • Bob Swann (1992). Zwei Jahrzehnte nach dem Interview mit Lifestyle! Magazine setzte sich Bob zu einem Interview mit Kirby White, Mitherausgeber von Community Economics, einem Newsletter, der seit vierzehn Jahren vom Institute for Community Economics herausgegeben wird, zusammen. In den Jahren dazwischen hatten sich viele Veränderungen in Bobs Leben und in der CLT-Bewegung ereignet, die er mit ins Leben gerufen hatte. Er war 1980 als geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts zurückgetreten und zog mit seiner Partnerin Susan Witt nach West-Massachusetts. Gemeinsam hatten sie den Community Land Trust in den Southern Berkshires und die EF Schumacher Society (heute Schumacher Center for a New Economics) gegründet. Inzwischen war die Zahl der CLTs von einer Handvoll ländlicher Experimente auf fast hundert angewachsen, die hauptsächlich in Städten, Vororten und Kleinstädten betrieben wurden. Dieses Interview gab Bob Gelegenheit, über die Entwicklung des Modells nachzudenken und die Tendenz der heutigen CLTs zu beklagen, sich ausschließlich auf bezahlbaren Wohnraum zu konzentrieren.
  • Liz Alden Wily (2020). Liz Alden Wily, PhD (Politikwissenschaft), ist Spezialistin für Landbesitz und arbeitet als Forscherin, technische Beraterin und Praktikerin im Bereich kommunaler Landbesitz. Sie hat an diesem Thema in ungefähr zwanzig Ländern gearbeitet. Sie steuerte ein Kapitel in On Common Ground mit dem Titel „Herausforderungen für das neue Kind im Block – Kollektives Eigentum“ bei. Sie war maßgeblich an der Initiierung regionaler und globaler Initiativen zur Unterstützung der Landrechte der Gemeinde beteiligt, wie beispielsweise LandMark, eine Online-Einrichtung, die Karten und Informationen über Gemeindeland zusammenstellt und öffentlich zugänglich macht. Liz ist Fellow des Van Vollenhoven Institute an der Leiden Law School, des Katiba Institute, einer verfassungsrechtlichen Interessenvertretung in Afrika, und der Rights and Resources Initiative, einer globalen Koalition.

Audio-Interviews

Interview des australischen Journalisten Karl Fitzgerald mit John Emmeus Davis (22. November 2018)

Gus Newport (82) spricht mit seinem langjährigen Freund Jason Webb (38) darüber, wie sie sich kennengelernt haben und warum sie sich so leidenschaftlich für Community-Organizing einsetzen. Gus spricht über seine Arbeit bei der Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative und Jason beschreibt, wie er sich als Kind für die Organisation engagierte. Beide berichten über die Dudley-Gemeinde, was sie bei gemeindezentrierter Arbeit gelernt haben und wie es sich anfühlt, ihre Nachbarschaft positiv zu beeinflussen. Aufgenommen am 11. Oktober 2017.

Interviews

Interviews graphic

The Center is presently in the process of recording video interviews – in a variety of languages – with practitioners and advocates who are actively involved in operating and promoting CLT programs in their own countries. These interviews will be made available here for free streaming or downloading when ready.

Collected here, as well, are interviews that appeared in print over the years. These published accounts captured reflections and ideas from some of the people who seeded the modern community land trust movement or who played major roles in nurturing its growth.

Print Interviews

  • Group Interview with the Pioneers of New Communities (1971).  Over the years, a few high-profile leaders of New Communities Inc. (NCI) have been featured in print and on film. The voices of lesser-known participants in this inspiring story have seldom been heard. An exception is a rare interview conducted by Ed Feaver in 1971, one year after New Communities had completed purchase of 5,735 acres of rural land near Albany, Georgia. Eight people who were then organizing on NCI’s behalf, serving on NCI’s board, farming NCI’s land, or waiting in line for a chance to live on NCI’s land expressed their personal hopes for the journey ahead.
  • Ralph Borsodi (1974). Mother Earth News interviewed Ralph Borsodi a few years after he had retired as executive director of the International Independence Institute, the organization he had founded in 1967. He was 88 years old at the time of this interview, looking back on a long life of considerable achievement as a writer, homesteader, and social philosopher. Inspired by the ideas of Henry George, he had founded an intentional community in 1936 called the School of Living, where the buildings were owned by individuals and the land was owned by a nonprofit organization. He was the first to call this arrangement a “land trust.” He later spent five years in India, studying the Gramdan Movement. Returning to the United States in 1967, he founded the International Independence Institute (renamed the Institute for Community Economics in 1972) to promote land trusts, local currency, food security, and decentralist economics – youthful ideas he was still espousing and refining in his 88th year.
  • John Emmeus Davis (2011).  By 2011, John had been furthering the development of community land trusts for 30 years as a writer, teacher, and provider of technical assistance. The evolution of his personal and professional involvement with the CLT movement was explored in this interview recorded by Steve Dubb, then the Research Director at the Democracy Collaborative and now the editor of Nonprofit Quarterly. They also discussed the differing roles that CLTs can play when and where real estate markets are strong – and when and where they are weak.
  • Roz Greenstein (2007).  Roz was Chair of the Department of Economic and Community Development at the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy in 2005 when a national CLT conference that had been planned for Portland Oregon was abruptly canceled for lack of funds. She stepped in with funding from the Lincoln Institute to save the conference. One year later, she helped to start the National CLT Academy, served for three years as co-chair of the founding board, and used Lincoln’s resources to subsidize the Academy’s first regional trainings. She also played a pivotal role in spurring and funding scholarly research into CLTs and in shepherding Lincoln’s publication in 2010 of The Community Land Trust Reader.
  • David Ireland and Jerry Maldonado (2020).  David Ireland and Jerry Maldonado have been key supporters of the community land trust movement, and contributed the foreward to On Common Ground.  David is Chief Executive of World Habitat, a UK-based international housing charity that helps to scale up solutions to the world’s housing problems, from slum upgrading to post-disaster housing and homelessness. His organization also operates the World Habitat Awards in partnership with UN-Habitat, and runs programs aimed at ending homelessness and scaling up community-led housing.  Jerry is Director of the Cities and States Program at the Ford Foundation. He joined Ford in the aftermath of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, overseeing the Foundation’s Gulf Coast Transformation Initiative. Over the past decade he has developed and managed several of the Foundation’s national, regional, and state grant-making initiatives, working at the intersection of equitable development and civic engagement.
  • Eugene “Gus” Newport (2020) is the former Mayor of Berkeley CA. He later served as executive director of the Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative in Boston MA, the Institute for Community Economics in Springfield MA, and the Partnership for Neighborhood Initiatives in Palm Beach County FL. He has been a visiting fellow at several universities, including MIT, Yale, Portland State, the University of Massachusetts-Boston, and the University of California-Santa Cruz. He was vice-president from the USA to the World Peace Council from 1980 to 1986 and served on two committees at the United Nations. Earlier in his career, he worked for the U.S. Department of Labor in Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.
  • Charles Sherrod (1982). At 23 years of age, Charles Sherrod arrived in Albany, Georgia to do community organizing and voter registration for the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee. He never left. In 1968, he was one of eight Americans who traveled to Israel to study land leasing and agricultural cooperatives. After returning to the USA, he was part of the planning committee that founded New Communities, Inc. (NCI). When the organization’s founding president, Slater King, was killed in a car accident in 1969, Charles assumed the presidency, an office he held for 16 years. NCI was still a going concern in 1981 when John Davis traveled to southwest Georgia to record an interview with Charles for inclusion in the The Community Land Trust Handbook, published by Rodale Press the following year.
  • Bob Swann (1973).  This is one of the earliest interviews given by Bob Swann. It appeared in Lifestyle! Magazine, soon after he and three colleagues had published The Community Land Trust: A Guide to a New Model for Land Tenure in America; and soon after Bob had become executive director of the Institute for Community Economics, after Ralph Borsodi’s retirement. At the time of this interview, there were few existing organizations that resembled the “new model for land tenure” described in his book. This interview provides a rare glimpse into Bob’s thinking as CLTs were just getting underway in the United States.
  • Bob Swann (1992).  Two decades after being interviewed by Lifestyle! Magazine, Bob sat down for an interview with Kirby White, co-editor of Community Economics, a newsletter published for fourteen years by the Institute for Community Economics. In the intervening years, many changes had occurred in Bob’s life and in the CLT movement that he had helped to start. He had stepped down as the Institute’s executive director in 1980 and moved to Western Massachusetts with his partner, Susan Witt. Together they had started the Community Land Trust in the Southern Berkshires and the E.F. Schumacher Society (now named the Schumacher Center for a New Economics). Meanwhile, the number of CLTs had grown from a handful of rural experiments to nearly a hundred, operating mostly in cities, suburbs, and towns. This interview afforded Bob a chance to reflect on the model’s evolution and to lament the tendency of present-day CLTs to focus narrowly on affordable housing alone.
  • Liz Alden Wily (2020).  Liz Alden Wily, PhD (Political Science), is a specialist in land tenure, working as a researcher, technical adviser, and practitioner on community landholding.  She has worked on this issue in approximately twenty countries.  She contributed a chapter in On Common Ground entitled "Challenges for the New Kid on the Block -- Collective Property".  She has been instrumental in helping to launch regional and global initiatives in support of community land rights such as LandMark, an online facility which collates and makes maps and information publicly available about community lands. Liz is a Fellow of the Van Vollenhoven Institute at Leiden Law School, the Katiba Institute, a constitutional advocacy body in Africa, and the Rights and Resources Initiative, a global coalition.

Audio Interviews

Australian journalist Karl Fitzgerald's interview with John Emmeus Davis (November 22, 2018)

Video Interviews